Les Dethlefsen: Fecal Transplant Pills, The Microbiota & How to Restore Gut Health – #240



Les Dethlefsen comes on Bulletproof Radio today to discuss recent discoveries about the microbiota, when you should take pre and probiotics, hacking the harmful effects that antibiotics have on our gut flora, and how a fecal transplant can save your life.

Les Dethlefsen, Ph.D., is a staff scientist at the Relman labs at Stanford. Since joining the lab in 2004, his work has been focused on the temporal dynamics of the gut microbiota. Les has an undergraduate double major in physics and molecular biology. He earned his Ph.D. in both Microbiology and Ecology/Evolutionary Biology from Michigan State. His current study, ‘Dynamics of the Human Microbiota,’ is looking for participants.

Enjoy the show!

Resources:
Pseudomonas aeruginosa – https://www.cdc.gov/hai/organisms/pseudomonas.html
Microbiota – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microbiota
Trichuris trichiura (pig whipworm eggs) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trichuris_trichiura
Polyphenols – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyphenol
DD-transpeptidase (Bacterial DD) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DD-transpeptidase
Firmicutes – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firmicutes
Fasting-induced adipose factor (FIAF) – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16272564
Mycotoxin – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mycotoxin
Quantified Self – https://quantifiedself.com/
Probiotics – https://geni.us/3GxD
Hadza, Tanzania – https://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2009/12/hadza/finkel-text
Polysaccharides – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polysaccharide
Caprylic acid – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caprylic_acid
Chronic low-grade inflammation – https://healthletter.mayoclinic.com/editorial/editorial.cfm/i/163/t/Buzzed%20on%20inflammation/
Glyphosate (Roundup) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glyphosate
Fecal Transplant – https://thepowerofpoop.com/epatients/where-to-get-fecal-transplant/
Clostridium difficile (pseudomembranous colitis) – https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/c-difficile/basics/definition/con-20029664
Ulcerative colitis – https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/ulcerative-colitis/basics/definition/con-20043763
ubiome – https://ubiome.com/

Bulletproof:
Brain Octane Oil – https://www.bulletproof.com/brain-octane-oil-32-oz?utm_source=yt&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=pod240
MCT Oil – https://www.bulletproof.com/xct-oil-32-oz?utm_source=yt&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=pod240
Bulletproof Coffee Shop – https://www.bulletproofexec.com/bulletproof-coffee-shop/
Bulletproof Conference – https://bulletproofconference.com/bp-conference-2015
Moldy Movie – https://moldymovie.com/index
Bulletproof Diet Book – https://geni.us/bulletproofdietbook
Free Bulletproof Diet Roadmap – https://www.bulletproofexec.com/the-complete-illustrated-one-page-bulletproof-diet/


Post time: Jun-26-2017